>MY DARTMOOR DOZEN: THE FULL LIST

Posted: April 20, 2009 in Uncategorized

>
I seem to be back as a “non spam blog” therefore I am taking the opportunity of posting the full list of my Dartmoor Dozen books.


The Suspicions of Mr Whicher: Kate Summerscale
The Hound of The Baskervilles: Arthur Conan Doyle
Death on The Nile: Agatha Christie
The Long Goodbye: Raymond Chandler
The Locked Room: Maj Sjowall and Per Wahloo
The Man Who Liked Slow Tomatoes: K.C. Constantine
The Reunion: Simone van der Vlugt
The Big O: Declan Burke
A Quiet Flame: Philip Kerr
A Coffin For Dimitrios: Eric Ambler
Nemesis: Jo Nesbo
Excursion to Tindari: Andrea Camilleri

This list makes me think of those cookery programs where pretentious chefs comment on the amateur cooks and pontificate “what I want is flavour, flavour, flavour”. 
The books in this list are definitely full of different flavours and they all feature wonderful characters and dialogue that sticks in the mind.  
Comments
  1. Dorte H says:

    >Nice flavours there :DI think you (or someone else) said a short while ago, that if you had to make a new list in a year´s time, it would probably be completely different. For my part, I think I change my mental list quite often; after having joined our crime and mystery room I have added so many excellent writers to my list, e.g. Ann cleeves & Martin Edwards. But that is just part of the pleasure, expanding one´s horizon in the company of good & inspiring friends 😀

  2. Maxine says:

    >Congratulations on the accolade of a “non spam blog”. When are we going to see the badge on your site?!There are one or two in your list that I have not read, so I must get my skates on before you do as Dorte suggests and devise a new dozen for next year.

Leave a Reply

