The I’s Choice of the 10 best…Crime DVDs

Posted: July 13, 2011 in notes, tv crime fiction

If you watch or read the news over the past week you will have discovered that British newspapers are ………….

This is one of the reasons why we don’t usually buy a newspaper, but recently we have have weakened and started to buy the I [the essential daily briefing from The Independent].  I disagree with a good deal of the politics of the I’s parent paper The Independent, but ‘baby I’ has one redeeming feature. It costs only 20p during the week and 30p on a Saturday. At that price it must cost them money to produce the thing; and I can ignore much of ranting  writing of recently suspended journalist Johann Hari, and others. 

Today’s I actually had some good articles, and Samuel Muston made his choice of the 10 best Crime DVDs. I thought I should share this with you and ask if you thought he had missed any worthy of inclusion. I have thought of one, which I will include in tomorrow’s post. 

1] Prime Suspect: Helen Mirren

2] Spiral

3] Sherlock Holmes: Jeremy Brett

4] Cracker

5] The Killing: the original Danish version

6] Agatha Christie’s Poirot: David Suchet

7] The Wire

8] Wallander: The Swedish version with Krister Henriksson

9] Cagney and Lacey

10] Luther

Comments
  1. Norman – Thanks for this list. I have to agree with some of these choices, especially Prime Suspect. I’ll be very interested to see which one you think should have been included, but wasn’t.

  2. Norman says:

    Oops too many photos?

    Anyway the list is still there. Margot there is a special reason that I am waiting till tomorrow. ;o)

    The only DVD set choices I could quibble with are Cracker, which I have not watched, and Luther, which I did not enjoy.

  3. Would you call Vera Stanhope a series?
    If not, I don´t know enough about your choices these days to add any.

  4. Maxine says:

    have not watched many of these but would agree with The Killing (Danish), The Wire, Spiral (series 1/2 but it went off a bit after that), the first 3 crackers when Cracker was horrid and C Eccelston was in it (it went really off after that so I soon stopped watching) and the few prime suspects I watched. (Have got the boxed set of all but not yet watched). I liked Jeremy Brett as Holmes years ago, don’t know how it would stand up now. I would add Scott and Bailey which against expectations I thought very good. (Cagney and Lacey I remember watching but thinking it very slow). My daughters like CSI but I have never watched it. Swedish Wallander started well but went well off in my opinion, not least when everyone’s personalities changed so Mr Roopace could bow out, and those awful “teen” cops came into it with all their manufactured personal dramas……

  5. kathy d. says:

    Prime Suspect was excellent, of course. Cagney and Lacey was fun. I always watched it, liked the interplay between Tyne Daly and Sharon Gless.

    One series which I enjoyed and would include is Foyle’s War. Excellent plots each episode, terrific cast featuring Michael Kitchen and Honeysuckle Weeks.

    Also, many of the Inspector Lewis episodes were quite good.

  6. Philip Amos says:

    I have not seen four in the list, so I can’t comment on it in toto, but I should most certainly like to see Joan Hickson’s Miss Marple on there. Also, I agree wholly with Kathy re Foyle’s War — superb scripts and acting, with a rather fascinating characterization by Michael Kitchen. I’m a bit puzzled as to what Cagney and Lacey is doing on there, entertaining though it could be.

  7. Norman says:

    I agree with you both [Kathy and Philip] Foyle’s War is a must. The superb acting of Michael Kitchen and Honeysuckle Weekes accent made that series.
    Joan Hickson’s Miss Marple puts more recent efforts to shame.

  8. Philip says:

    Ah, yes, Honeysuckle Weeks. Enough said, Norman. I do think that there is one very weak bit of casting in the series, and that is Foyle’s No. 2. He seems to have a permanent maniacal stare and a monotonal voice that gives me the feeling he’s about to go berserk and attack whomever he’s talking to, be it his wife, Foyle, a wee babe, a little old lady who’s been robbed, or, more appropriately, the villain-in-chief. Irritates me enormously, and it say much for the writing and for Kitchen and Weeks that it still doesn’t weigh much in the balance.

    I forgot to say in my earlier comment that I remember that Maigret series very well, Norman, and it was superb, a classic. This business of the BBC erasing tapes is infuriating, perhaps most of all when it comes to music broadcast on radio, for there they destroyed priceless performances. What makes it all the worse is that they seem to gone about it utterly randomly, with no rationale to explain why this programme or concert was eradicated while others, often of far less significance, were preserved. There have long been and are now some real shenanigans going on at the Beeb and they in sore need of being sorted out. Perhaps the powers-that-be could do that after Rupert has been seen to.

  9. Norman says:

    Maxine, I enjoyed Scott and Bailey. Even though Bailey was very naive for a detective I always like to see a lawyer get their just deserts. Interestingly Scott in real life is married to the bloke she is supposed to have had an affair with-confusing.

  10. Maxine says:

    Wow, interesting trivia, Norman! I should get out more, or maybe not….

Leave a Reply

