One man’s joke……..

Posted: August 26, 2011 in Uncategorized

I am currently reading Blood Sisters by Alessandro Perissinotto, and yesterday came across a passage that had me chuckling until I realised that one man’s joke might be another’s social comment on my old profession. I would be the last person in the world to defend the reputation of dentists, especially as my own past colleagues include a murderer, and a convicted insider trader. That image of dentists and lawyers constantly on holiday might well have some  justification, although of course I was the exception. 

Whatever the case, Dr Callegari appeared less than a minute later. One meter ninety tall, with a tan redolent of tropical beaches, the kind of mahogany-coloured tan you might see on a dentist or a lawyer, not a hospital doctor in mid-career. 

Comments
  1. Norman – LOL! Thanks for sharing. And yes, there’s definitely an image of medical professionals always going on holiday. Although the ones I’ve known personally have rarely had time for one…

  2. Don’t you love it when a joke has a personal touch? Thanks for sharing.

  3. LOL

    Yesterday I read a great blog post where two police officers told readers about their interview and interrogation techniques. I had to tell them that being a teacher I knew quite a bit about both.

  4. Norman says:

    Thanks Margot, Rhian and Dorte.
    The photo was taken on the balcony of a rather nice B&B in Knaresborough, N.Yorkshire when we were attending a wedding at Ripley Castle. These dentists live the high life. I thought of it because of Dorte’s Knavesborough, and because it is between Harrogate [the crime festival] and York.

  5. Knavesborough?

    How embarrassing that I couldn´t even see that 😉

    But I did notice that the scene was very cosy.

  6. Maxine says:

    I knew there had to be a subliminal reason why I thought you’d like this book, Norman! (apart from the fact it’s Italian and has a strong youngish female protagonist!)

  7. Norman says:

    Dorte, I thought you must have been contemplating going to Harrogate, and taken the idea from spotting Knaresborough it on the map.

    Maxine, sorry my apologies, I was going to acknowledge yet another kind gift when I reviewed the book. Mind you you are so generous I lose track: it must be those strong youngish female protagonists that get me so confused, and all of a fluster.

    • Maxine says:

      That is totally understandable, Norman ;-), and no apologies (or acknowledgement) necessary, I too lose track of who I’ve sent books to. I’ll be posting off Nesser soon, I’ve drafted the review so just need to do a couple more checks through (eg spellings of those darn names, etc!).

  8. Norman says:

    Thanks Maxine, really looking forward to the Nesser :-).
    When we moved from London I intended to open a bookshop, just like Van Veeteren, but was persuaded to buy a dental practice :-(.
    I don’t think I could have competed with Amazon.

  9. No, I didn´t plan to go to Harrogate. I think my main source of inspiration was James Herriot´s books which I read 30 years ago. I am sure grumpy old Arnold Kickinbottom is of the same clay.

  10. Maxine says:

    I think you made a wise, but sad, decision not to open a bookshop, Norman. There were about 10 in Kingston when we moved here, now we have one waterstones, a denuded WHS (ie books pushed out for coffee and mobile phone concessions) and an oxfam bookshop…..

Leave a Reply

