September

Posted: September 2, 2011 in Agatha Christie, England, Norway, notes, USA

‘Oh it’s a long, long while from May to December, but the days grow short when you reach September.’

We like many people will never forget where we were when we heard about the Twin Towers on 11 September 2001. We had just dropped off our beloved Jacob to start a course on independent living, and animal husbandry, at Lufton Manor College near Yeovil, when on the return trip we turned on the car radio….

Jacob was a total star on that course, especially at looking after the pigs. He loved his time at Lufton. I am trying to remember the good times for our family in the tumultuous decade  that has followed. Returning from a trip to Ireland flying back in a very rickety bumpy old plane, groups of Catholics saying the rosary, me hanging to my seat for dear life, and Jacob announcing to terrified passengers that he liked flying. Jacob going with his friends to Ground Zero, and Spanish villas for his summer holidays. Jacob getting a Prince’s Trust Award and singing with The Honeytones. My other children getting their degrees [one as a mature student getting a first] good memories.

Time to move on, and consider less important anniversaries. On the 15th it is the 121st anniversary of Agatha Christie’s birth, and I hope to post something relevant on that day.

Then the 12 September is the fifth blog birthday of the original Crime Scraps started over at Blogger, and now moved to WordPress. To celebrate the relaunch of the blog as Crime Scraps Review I wanted to have something really special for readers. Over the years I have managed to get some really interesting author interviews [I won’t list them all in case I forget someone] and even a couple of charming guest bloggers for my Dartmoor Dozen feature, but this relaunch feature will be a special highlight for fans of translated crime fiction. 

Coming soon on Crime Scraps Review an interview with Don Bartlett, the superb translator of the Jo Nesbo thrillers, and K.O.Dahl police procedurals. 

Comments
  1. Norman – I know what you mean about having memories etched on one’s consciousness. I have some of 11 Sept., too, which I’ll be sharing when that day comes. And those personal memories can be haunting, too… I hope the good ones continue to comfort you.
     
    How exciting that you’re nearing your fifth blog birthday. I wish you many, many more and I’m the better for having discovered this rich resource. I look forward to what’s coming next on Crime Scraps Review.

  2. Norman says:

    Margot-Thanks for your kind words. I look forward to reading your memories on the day, but I thought I would get my memories in early. My son, who we haven’t seen for over two months, returns after working abroad just before 11th September, and from then on things may get hectic as Britain’s third “Royal” wedding of the year approaches. 😉

  3. kathy d. says:

    Congratulations on your fifth blog-o-versary. This blog is always interesting and uptodate in its relevance to today’s doings.
    Very nice to hear about Jacob. He sounds like he was a very happy person who brought that exuberance to those around him, especially his family.
    Wonderful memories; thanks for sharing them.

  4. It was late at night here when September 11 news struck, we were watching the West Wing which was (and still is) my favourite tv show of all time. We were so cross that it was interrupted half-way through for what we thought then was news of an accident…at first we watched the coverage in the hope the station would return to the show…then we watched in horror through the night. At about 4am I got a phone call from my American sister in law…she was in New York and was booked on the 4th flight that crashed that day in Pennsylvania but she had chosen to stay in town for an extra meeting…the problem was she couldn’t get through on the phones to her husband, my brother, in Los Angeles and she was frantic to let him know she hadn’t taken the flight, international calls seemed to be working so she called me and eventually I was able to get through to him…best phone call I ever made as he had of course been so terribly worried….it took her days of discomfort and petty annoyances to get home across the country by train but she says she smiled and laughed like a crazy woman all the way as nothing could be worse than what would have been her alternative.

    It’s so good to focus on the positive memories that have come out of the last ten years …wish we would do so collectively instead of our media and politicians being so quick to fuel fears and divisiveness amongst us all in the name of the so-called war on terror. I sometimes wonder if those terrorists were really that clever…to really know how far reaching the effects of their actions would be…or whether it’s ‘luck’ (of the most hideous kind of course).

    ‘Nuff of being maudlin…look forward to your interview and thanks for sharing your memories and thoughts.

  5. Norman says:

    Bernadette, what a story! Your sister-in-law and brother must consider themselves the luckiest people in the world, and what a wonderful phone call to be able to make. Bittersweet obviously thinking about those that died.

  6. Maxine says:

    I came into work to find a guy sitting at my desk from the New York office. I asked him to find another desk. Turned out he was a colleague visiting from NY who could not get home because the flights had been cancelled. Like a lot of people, I did not appreciate the importance of the event, initially (partly due to not watching TV and I have not to this day seen the film of the planes going into the towers, though I’ve seen newspaper and magazine images, that’s enough for me). I felt very bad for this guy though. Our office in NY is right next to the building where everyone was putting up photos of their friends and relatives to see if anyone had seen them – it was very upsetting for the staff every time they entered or left the building. Not that they “minded” of course, not one bit, it was just the constant reminder of the pain and sadness.

    Thanks for the memories of Jacob, It is so sad to lose a loved one, words cannot describe it, especially when one is taken from us so far before their time. I feel for you Norman.

Leave a Reply

