Seaside

Posted: October 6, 2011 in Agatha Christie, England, photo essay

I am not feeling very well at the moment so I thought I would post another photo essay. This one inspired by the opening sentences of Peril at End House by Agatha Christie. [1932]

No seaside town in the south of England is , I think as attractive as St Loo. It is well named the Queen of Watering Places and reminds one forcibly of the Riviera.

John Curran in his Agatha Christie’s Secret Notebooks points out that:

The hotel where Poirot and Hastings sit is a real Torquay hotel, the Imperial with a verandah overlooking Torquay bay; in the book it is re-imagined as the Majestic Hotal in St Loo.

Comments
  1. Norman – I am sorry to hear you’re not feeling well; I hope you heal up soon. Thank you so much for the lovely ‘photo essay, though. It’s such a pleasure to see these ‘photos and get a real sense of the setting for Christie’s novels. You’ve got photographic talent.

  2. Get well soon, Norm. Lovely pics. They have brightened my day.

  3. kathy d. says:

    Those are beautiful photos. I like the seacoast there.
    Perhaps that sea air will help you to feel better soon. Hope so.

  4. Maxine says:

    hope you feel better soon, Norman.

  5. Bernadette says:

    Lovely pics, I too send good wishes for a speedy recovery

  6. H.L. Banks says:

    So enjoyed the pics – they are simply beautiful. Hope you recover soon.

  7. Great photos. Best wishes for a speedy recovery from me too.

  8. Maxine says:

    Wishing you well, Norman. Thinking of you.

  9. Norman says:

    Thanks everyone for the good wishes. Hopefully I am healthy and back now.

Leave a Reply

