The CWA Ellis Peters Shortlist

Posted: October 13, 2011 in Book Awards

“The Crime Writers’ Association has announced the shortlist for this year’s prestigious Ellis Peters Historical Award. The six books on the shortlist (more details below) are:

Rory Clements* Prince (John Murray)
Sam Eastland The Red Coffin (Faber & Faber)
Gordon Ferris The Hanging Shed (Corvus)
Andrew Martin The Somme Stations (Faber & Faber)
RN Morris The Cleansing Flames (Faber & Faber)
Imogen Robertson Island of Bones (Headline)

CWA chair Peter James said: “Historical fiction remains as popular as ever and has seen the creation of some of crime writing’s most enduring characters. This year’s books continue that fine tradition.“

The winner will be announced on November 30 at the Athenaeum in London.”

*Rory Clements won last year with Revenger.

Well done to the CWA for announcing the shortlist with almost seven weeks to go till the winner is announced. Interested bloggers will at least have a chance to read the books and comment before the final choice is made. This year there is an interesting range of books; Elizabethan, late 18th century England, late 19th century Russia, World War I, 1939 Soviet Union, 1946 Glasgow. But strangely considering the award is named for the creator of the medieval monk detective Brother Cadfael no book set in that period. Full details of the books here at the Crime Writers’ website. 

Comments
  1. There are three on that list that I desperately want to read. When I can find the time.
    Very pleased to see you recovered, Norm. 😉

  2. Norman says:

    Thanks Rhian.
    I wonder if those three are the same as the three I have on my list to read. Clements, Morris [of course], and Robertson.

    • Yep, Morris, of course – here’s hoping he wins. Also Sam Eastland: I loved the first one in that series (it had a very memorable ex-chef and some great humour). Lastly, the Ferris, which has been far too long in my tbr…

  3. Maxine says:

    I haven’t read any of them I am afraid, but I look forward to both of your recommendations when you do get around to reading them 😉

  4. kathy d. says:

    I’m not much of a historical mystery buff, except for Ariana Franklin’s beautiful series with Adelia Aguilar.

    However, I look forward to your reviews. Perhaps they will persuade me to read your recommendations.

  5. Norman says:

    I am going to try and read as many of these as I can with the timeframe, and post an opinion before the award ceremony. But as recent events brought my reading to a grinding halt I am not going to shed any tears if I don’t manage to read more than two or three.

Leave a Reply

