Winter Festival Quirky Quiz

Posted: December 14, 2011 in Quiz

This quiz may not be as difficult as those I have set in the past, simply because my old brain is seizing up, but I hope it will test your little grey cells a little.

You will have till midnight 3 January 2012 GMT to get your entries in, and the winner will be able to choose  their prize from a selection of new books.

Please reply with your answers to thbear08@googlemail.com. Good luck.

Here we go:

1] The two people in the photograph both have presidential connections; one also has a connection with Christmas Day and a fictional detective? Explain. 

2] Which crime fiction book is linked with a sacrifice in chess, a low upholstered box seat, and a town in northern Bulgaria?

3] Which Nordic crime fiction writers are, or used to be:

(a) A Minister for Justice. (b) A civil engineer (c) A dentist (d) An economist (e) A policeman (f) A junior expert on Middle East policy (g) a criminal.

4] What did John Gardner and Charles McCarry have in common? And who was “embarrassed, puzzled and more than a little angry”? 

5] In the Danish TV series The Killing II Sarah Lund’s partner is called Ulrik Strange. Name two crime writers who also use the name Strange for policemen.

6] A slang name for a capital city, and a large Asian cat. What brought them together? 

7] What is the link between one of the eight wives of  a jazz clarinetist, and a prize winning crime fiction author? 

8] Who worked together on the Abercrombie forgery case, and the Baron Altara case?

9] Beginnings and endings:

(a)Which crime novel begins with:

They found the corpse on the 8th July just after 3 o’clock in the afternoon. It was fairly well intact and couldn’t have been lying in the water long. 

 (b) Which crime novel ends with:

‘Is he going to be alright?’ he heard himself ask. ‘Tell me he’s going to be all right…’ 

10] Who reads Lady Frances Verney’s memoirs?

Comments
  1. Sarah says:

    Just as well you’ve given me to January. I know the people in the first picture. That’s about it.

  2. Norman – Quite a brain-cruncher! I’ve got three of them but so far, that’s it…

  3. Norman Price says:

    Rhian, why? Too easy or too hard. 😉

    Sarah, that’s a good start. I forget I am a bit older than some, and some very important people during my childhood are just historical figures to others.

    Margot, I didn’t mean to crunch your brain….but surely it is still quite early in the morning on the West coast. Once you are at full speed I am sure you will get 9 out of the 10. 🙂

    • You had to ask, Norm?

      In my estimation, regardless of the numbers on the questions, there are potentially 21 answers to derive. I knew two straight up. Knew I knew another two and had to check. Now worked out another two, possibly three. The rest will demand research to level of a thesis for a PhD here. But I am so glad you have given us so much of the holiday season to work on it, Norm. When not choking on chocolates or considering the scintillation level of a sprout, I may hit the research papers… 😉

  4. Norman says:

    Rhian, please be careful with those chocolates, no choking and you already have a PhD level of knowledge about crime fiction.
    I am relying on you, Karen and Maxine to resist the challenge of the USA, Canada, Australia and Spain. 😉

  5. Amendment. That’s 20 answers, not 21, I think. I hope I’ve worked my way up to 12 correct ones now…

  6. Norman says:

    Well done, Rhian! Hits are up. 😉

  7. It’s my extensive research! Sadly, I will have to leave it for today due to a prior engagement that may contain wine.

  8. Rhian: 12 correct answers! How dare YOU complain! 😉

    Well, at least I know now that there is no need to try to send in one or two answers.

  9. I am now back and the research will continue over the weekend…

  10. kathy d. says:

    Omigod, this is like going for a these or having an exam in physics. So much homework is required. I know who is in the photo, but after that I am somewhat lost, except for the question about former occupations of Nordic writers. Those I know.

    You really know how to write tough quizzes.

  11. Philip Amos says:

    Thank you so much for this, Norman. I was so much hoping a QQ would appear, for as the second worst year of my life comes to its peroration with the deadly Christmas season, I desperately wanted something to preoccupy me, and a QQ is always the ticket. I have six completely answered, half of another, and three unriddled but awaiting the making of connections. You always have one question that confounds me, and though unriddled, one question is such. And there is one that tortures us for a reason dear Rhian mentions — multiple possibilities. In other words, Norman, it’s wonderful. “You’re a pal,” if I may end on a Bogartian note.

  12. Norman says:

    Kathy-Nothing could be as difficult as a physics exam. I had three attempts to pass physics at advanced level prior to going to university. Struck down by peritonitis before the first effort, I came out of my second attempt feeling rough with German measles, and after passing at my third discovered I did not need it to start dentistry at my chosen university.

  13. Norman says:

    Philip- I am very pleased that I have given you something to keep you occupied at least part of the holiday season. Hopefully those final connections will allude you for a bit longer. 😉

    This has been the worst year of my life, but I know Jacob would want us to go on. You expect to look after a child with special needs, but for most of his 26 years Jacob looked after us……

Leave a Reply

