Tidying up

Posted: December 29, 2011 in notes

I am just tidying up a few loose ends before the end of the year.

You can read about Braquo my favourite discovery of the year at Euro Crime.  Series one ended with the sort of cliffhanger that makes scanning the schedules for series two an essential activity. 

Don’t forget you have only a few more days to get in your entries to the Winter Festival Quirky Quiz.

A couple of days ago I finished reading Ben Pastor’s Liar Moon, the second book in the Martin Bora series, and my review should appear on Euro Crime in due course.

I am now reading Charles McCarry’s 1974 classic The Tears of Autumn, a book I read about 30 years ago, but it seems as fresh today as it did then. I thought I might read fifty crime fiction novels this year, but I will fall short as the McCarry is only number 47. But five of those last six books that I have read are a very good reason for delaying the choice of best/favourite reads of the year until that very last day. 

Time to weigh up the reading year……

Comments
  1. Oh I do so agree that ‘the list’ cannot be made until the whole year’s reading is complete

  2. Maxine says:

    Looking forward to your list, Norman.

  3. Norman – I’ll look forward to your results, Norman.

  4. kathy d. says:

    Looking forward to the reviews of your favorite books of 2011.

  5. kathy d. says:

    Oh, Norman, I did get the Montelbano book this week, read it and already it’s being shared. So about 5 or 6 people will read it. Am aiming to get more fans of the gourmet, mystery reading, eccentric Sicilian police inspector, a goal of 2011.

    Thanks a lot. I may pass up this quiz, as it’s a tough one and my research time is very limited. But I will avidly check in on the blog to see the results.

Leave a Reply

