How do you like your crime fiction?

Posted: March 13, 2012 in polls

Do you want to know a secret? I don’t particularly like the Kindle reading experience. I much prefer a book and the tactile feel of turning those pages. I love putting my book mark between those pages and immediately see what progress I have made. I love reading books. 

I just don’t think you get that feeling of intimacy with a Kindle. I agree when going on holiday the Kindle is ideal for saving space, and the cheap deals are good, and it is nice to have the complete works of George Eliot and Charles Dickens handy to read, but I just like the feel of a book. How about you?

 

Comments
  1. Maxine says:

    Agree, after 2 years of it, I know I much prefer old fashioned books. I do read books on kindle, for various reasons, but prefer it if I don’t have to.

  2. Dan says:

    I’m pro-Kindle all the way. My wife doesn’t like it when I use the light next to the bed to read at night, and she gets woken up by the frequent turning of pages, but with a little reading light on my Kindle, she sleeps soundly while I devour hundreds of pages. It’s a win-win!

  3. Norman says:

    I agree Maxine, the only reason I started reading on the Kindle was to increase the font size. I have found it takes me twice as long to read a book on Kindle as a print book if the font size is reasonable. I might fool myself that I am going to read Middlemarch, Daniel Deronda, and Bleak House [again we read it at school] next week, but that isn’t going to happen.

  4. Rob Kitchin says:

    I’m still sticking to my plan to only use the Kindle for only those books I can’t get in paper. Mainly e-book collections and some e-book only novels. I just prefer the tactile experience, nothing more than that. I’m not one of these luddites who think there is something intrinsically wrong with the rise of e-reading. Just prefer old fashioned books.

  5. If I could have real books delivered from the US at the same price, I´d probably never have bought my Kindle, but I see it as a very convenient way to get new books at a reasonable price. I still enjoy paper books, but once I have got into an e-book, I don´t think about the format. Besides I knew I was going to publish e-books myself when I bought my reader so I thought it was a good idea to be able to read them myself 🙂

  6. Norman says:

    Good thinking, Dorte. 😉

  7. Norman says:

    Dan, the light on the Kindle was one reason I bought it, but my wife’s sonorous rhythmic snoring send me off to sleep after a page or two. 🙂

    Rob, I totally agree I think the Kindle is a fantastic device, but I just prefer books.

  8. Kindle for all fiction. Real book for non-fiction.

  9. Sarah says:

    Books just sit on my kindle unread but it’s handy for travelling.

  10. Rob Kitchin says:

    The other thing I forgot to say is I just like the aesthetics and atmosphere of a room full of books. I have 9 bookcases slowly filling up in my ‘library room’ at home, and 6 bookcases at work. A kindle in a room just doesn’t have the same effect!

  11. kathy d. says:

    I love real books. I’ve said it again and again: turning pages, using bookmarks, piling up books I want to read near me, having them on my bookcases in two rooms with artwork, pottery, baskets, etc. and being surrounded by them as I work on my computer.

    And as an added bonus: loaning them to friends, so they can enjoy the books I do which the library does not carry.

    Kindles have many bonuses for people who travel, ride trains and buses to and from work, can’t find paper books or they’re too costly, many reasons. And for a family member who needs to adjust columns and fonts, it’s ideal.

    So, I understand the many reasons for using a Kindle, I’m sticking to my paper books — as long as I can obtain what I want in this format.

  12. Bill Selnes says:

    After spending my work days before a computer monitor and parts of my non-work days before a computer monitor blogging I do my reading for personal purposes from paper. It is enough that I spend over 10 hours a day in front of computer screens. I do not want to add hours of leisure time reading from a screen.

  13. Philip says:

    I am with most others in that my head says Kindle but my heart says paper, just like my head says iTunes but I still buy CDs (something that confirms my prehistoric status with my students, though their amazement centres around ‘buying’ music).

  14. Keishon says:

    Not a fan of Kindle at all and I did own one but got rid of it. I use a Sony reader and prefer digital over paper almost exclusively. I will still *gasp* read paper but only if there’s not a digital copy of it available elsewhere. Interesting Norm that it takes you longer to read books on a digital device. For me it’s the opposite. When I have the time to read, I can usually finish quickly.

  15. Norman says:

    Earlier I realised what an ignorant Luddite I am. Someone replied “on my nook” and I thought they were being rude. Then I discovered a “nook” was the Barnes & Noble android based e-reader. 🙂
    Another piece of information for me to digest.

  16. kathy d. says:

    A nook? I thought this said “rook,” and then I thought of a chess game. Shows that you are not the only Luddite in the blogosphere! I’m in good company here, and I feel no compunction to update my technology. I’m having enough trouble with a cordless phone!

  17. Peter says:

    The Kindle’s sole significant advantage for most readers is that it allows instant gratification. You want a book, you can have it in a minute. Any other advantages it has for most readers are balances by disadvantages: its occasional crashes, the possibility of dropping in a bathtub at considerable expense, the difficulty of lending books, the poor formatting of many e-books, and so on. I have a Kindle. It’s a mixed blessing.

    Dan, I’m for anything that contributes to marital felicity, so I hope your wife can sleep through the inevitable cussing that will result when your Kindle freezes up and crashes. If mine is any guide, that should happen anywhere from once a week to several times a day.
    =====================================
    Detectives Beyond Borders
    “Because Murder Is More Fun Away From Home”
    http://www.detectivesbeyondborders.blogspot.com/

  18. kathy d. says:

    As a Luddite, reading the above post, I rest my case.

Leave a Reply

