Looking back: May 2012

Posted: June 1, 2012 in Dalziel and Pascoe, England, Scandinavia, spy story, Sweden, tv crime fiction

My reading mojo returned last month, and I read four books as well as three quarters of Jo Nesbo’s Phantom [review to follow in a few days].

The four books I read were:

 

Another Time, Another Life: Leif G.W.Persson

Last Will: Liza Marklund

On Beulah Height: Reginald Hill *

Hour of the Wolf: Hakan Nesser

I think I enjoyed my reading in May because my book choices were uniformly excellent. Four brilliant books that frankly I could not separate because in their different styles they were equally good reads. Four exceptional books by four superb award winning authors, so FOUR picks of the month for May. 

* My review of On Beulah Height and an appreciation of a great and very funny crime writer will appear at Celebrating Reginald Hill on 6 June.    

Comments
  1. Maxine says:

    I haven’t read the first one of your list but have read the others, and agree you have had an excellent reading month, Norman. Thanks for sharing, and look forward to your Hill post.

  2. Norman – So glad you had a good reading month! And you have indeed read some fine, fine books 🙂

  3. kathy d. says:

    I agree on Last Will, the only one of the four listed, which I’ve read. I am trying not to use my credit card to order Hour of the Wolf, although I’m sorely tempted, as Van Veeteren’s exploits are among my favorite Nordic reads.. My resolve about not ordering Phantom may go out the window when I read your review. I’ll wait and see.
    Since I have not read books by Reginald Hill, although I’ve seen the wonderful TV episodes, I will put On Beulah Height on my TBR list. With the Persson, I’ll see if the library has it.
    This is not a good year to be frugal about book purchases, I can see.

  4. I haven’t read any of your four but I have all of them packed away in boxes ready for my impending move. Sounds like I’ve got some excellent books to look forward to – especially interested in reading your review of the Reg Hill book as I have been really enjoying my recent re-discovery of his talents in both the D&P novels as well as standalones.

Leave a Reply

