An Interval from Nazis

Posted: June 12, 2012 in notes

I thought that before I went on to tackle Philip Kerr’s Prague Fatale, which is shortlisted for the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Award, and after reading Rebecca Cantrell’s A City of Broken Glass I would need a break from Nazis. Therefore I have started on a new series to me, by an author about to bring back an old friend. 

The photograph might give you a less than subtle clue about where the book is set, and it is not exactly a relaxing break as one plot theme in this book concerns CEOP [Child Exploitation and Online Protection].

‘You sit at your computer at home, surfing, maybe buying stuff or reading the gossip, and you’re about four clicks away from hell.’

This is almost as depressing and sad as  watching politicians giving “evidence” at the Leveson Inquiry. 

Comments
  1. Maxine says:

    I wouldn’t complain about the book you are about to read, in fact I would compliment it 😉

  2. Norman Price says:

    Clever Maxine, I guessed I wouldn’t be able to outfox you. 🙂

  3. Philip Amos says:

    Jeepers, Norman, until I enlarged the picture and saw the glimpse of street outside, I thought this wee collection was your own! My brother and I both favoured Glenmorangie, and I drank a fair few inches of a bottle on the first anniversary of his death last month. You might want to lay in a bottle in case I one day show up on your doorstep (a thought more frightening than any crime novel!).

    I like that quoted sentence very much, and I have the book here waiting for its turn. In light of the recent post and discussion on Peter’s DBB re graphic detail in novels, I shall be interested to see how the subject matter is dealt with therein. As my comment on Peter’s post made pretty clear, I hold, and have long held, a very determined opinion on this.

  4. Norman Price says:

    Philip, I will lay in a bottle.
    Your comment reminded me that on one visit my GP’s computer showed that I consumed 89 units of alcohol a week! An error but that may indeed be the consumption level needed to retain one’s sanity if not one’s sensibility in this modern world. 😉

Leave a Reply

