February 2013: a varied mix

Posted: March 1, 2013 in Bernie Gunther, Book Awards, Dalziel and Pascoe, Edgar Awards, England, Germany, Historical, Norway, Reginald Hill, review, Russia, USA

ehitdcI read six more crime fiction books during a cold miserable February and they varied between historical thrillers and psychological mysteries. pickofthemonth2012

 

Into The Darkest Corner: Elizabeth Haynes-[To Be Reviewed next week]

A superb  psychological thriller and a debut novel which I literally could not put down as the author racks up the tension towards the conclusion.

 

Pierced: Thomas Enger translator Charlotte Barslund- A disappointing book for me with too many pages, too much switching of perspective, and 119 chapters. I will be reading number three in this series and hoping the choppy style will be smoothed out a bit. 

The Bridge of Sighs: Olen Steinhauer– A good police procedural set in a fictional post-Second World War Eastern European country that had been “liberated” by the Red Army. Four more books await me in this interesting series.

Bones and Silence: Reginald Hill– The 1990 CWA Gold Dagger winning police procedural from one of England’s greatest crime writers. 

Beast In View: Margaret Millar- This brilliant psychological mystery won the Edgar in 1955, but unfortunately shows its age with outdated attitudes. Nevertheless a great read with a fantastic twist and a glimpse of the past. 

A Man Without Breath: Philip Kerr- [The review to appear on Euro Crime]- Another fine book in the Bernie Gunther series.

And my pick of the month was another close run thing but Into The Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes was something a bit different from my recent reading and therefore was my February choice.

Comments
  1. Norman – I’m very glad that you enjoyed so much of what you read. That in itself makes it a good reading month in my opinion.

  2. kathy d. says:

    You may have convinced me to read Elizabeth Haynes’ book, but I’ll wait to read your review. Psychological thrillers are normally not my favorite types of mysteries, but I will read the post here before I decide.
    I will not be reading the book with 119 chapters.
    My two favorites for February were Blessed Be Those Who Thirst, the second Hanne Wilhelmsen book by Anne Holt and The Golden Calf, another Irene Huss adventure by Helene Thurston.

    • Norman Price says:

      Kathy I thought the start of the Elizabeth Haynes was a little slow and that it was not my sort of book, but once I got into it I had to turn those pages.

    • Rebecca says:

      Hi Kathy- I just saw that the third Hanna Wilhelmsen book, Death of the Demon, comes out later this year. I still need to read The Blind Goddess.

  3. kathy d. says:

    I know about those page-turners. Just read a few myself. They’re very dangerous to a good night’s sleep when one is up till the wee hours just to read one more page, one more chapter.

  4. Sarah says:

    I can’t wait until your Bernie Gunther review Norman. I’m looking forward to this one.

  5. Rebecca says:

    Very interesting list, Norman, and I’ve only read one of the authors before (Elizabeth Haynes– her second book wasn’t great).

  6. Norman Price says:

    Thanks Rebecca I read that about the second book by Elizabeth Haynes. I think that happens when publishers/agents push out a second book too quickly after great success with the debut.

Leave a Reply

