The new Harry Hole

Posted: October 24, 2013 in Greece, Miss Marple, Scotland

51OKxEMZRZL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_SX385_SY500_CR,0,0,385,500_SH20_OU02_Jo Nesbo created one of the best Scandinavian crime thriller series with his Harry Hole books. In my opinion the series had begun to slip very slightly in The Leopard and Phantom from the incredibly high standards set in the Oslo Trilogy [The Redbreast, Nemesis, The Devil’s Star] The Redeemer, and The Snowman.

 I am 184 pages into Police, the latest in the series, and Jo Nesbo seems back to his tricky confusing best. The reader gets the trademark features of Nesbo’s best books, great characters, puzzling plot twists, corruption at the top, and a brutal serial killer defying the police. And as usual Don Bartlett translates it into easily readable English. Despite the size and weight of my hardback copy I won’t put this one down.

Updating the Harry Hole series [book two is yet to be translated into English]
 
 The Cockroaches
Comments
  1. Norman – So good to hear that you’re enjoying Police. It’s not easy to maintain the sort of high standards that the Oslo Trilogy sets as you say, but it’s nice to know they can still be met.

  2. kathy d. says:

    Am glad that Police is a good one. I’ve read Nemesis and Devil’s Star, and thought Nemesis one of the best thrillers I’ve ever read — and there were no serial killers to mention. I’ve wondered what other books to read, and see that you liked The Redeemer and The Snowman. And now you’re enjoying Police.

    So, as daunted as I am by my TBR piles and mountaneous lists, I’ll go with your recommendations, as I can’t read the whole canon. Too much to read here unless I figure out how to do it 24/7, with no sleeping, bill paying, house cleaning, grocery shopping, etc.

  3. TracyK says:

    As usual, I am very far behind on this series, and I appreciate the links to all the reviews of earlier books. Have read Redbreast, plan to read Nemesis next, haven’t decided which to read after that.

  4. Norman Price says:

    Thanks for your comments Margot, Kathy and Tracy.
    I have finished Police in record time for a 500+ page book. Review to follow soon, and now on to the next book by Phillip Georget
    https://crimescraps2.wordpress.com/2013/09/30/reading-intentions/

  5. kathy d. says:

    Norman, if you couldn’t put down Police, I consider that a rave review. I’ll read this soon, as I feel a yen for a Jo Nesbo page-turner.

Leave a Reply

