As Time Goes By……

Posted: December 27, 2013 in Book Awards, Norway, Scandinavia, spy story, tv crime fiction, USA

51AQPJFPPKLThe terrible weather, hiccups with my computer, and a very busy time with relatives and friends mean that my Christmas good 519EtidIF6L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_SX385_SY500_CR,0,0,385,500_SH20_OU02_wishes are a little late this year. But I wish everyone a very happy, healthy and prosperous 2014.

This year because of illness and other commitments we only had four instead of the usual seven or more at Christmas lunch. It seems like only yesterday when there were a dozen 0r more of us round the table but………that’s life. I really enjoyed a quiet Christmas Day evening watching a recording of the film Casablanca with my 15 year old granddaughter. I know the film off by heart having watched it numerous times, and could not resist stopping the recording several times to point out the special passages, political ramifications and catch phrases. She was kind and said despite my annoying interruptions it was a  very good film; and hopefully my verbal historical annotations might help her with her exams.

My reading over the last couple of weeks featured a prize winning novel that was absolutely brilliant. I like reading books in my comfort zone and this wonderful novel fitted me like a glove; I refer to Norwegian By Night by Derek B. Miller. I was very pleased that so many other people seemed to agree with my view even though they do not share my background. [A review to follow next week].

 I will end my blogging year with a quote from Norwegian By Night. Sheldon Horowitz as his granddaughter Rhea attempts to persuade him to go to live with her and Lars in Oslo comes up with this gem.

“What am I going to do there? I’m an American. I’m a Jew. I’m eighty-two. I’m a retired widower. A Marine. A watch repairman. It takes me an hour to pee. Is there a club there I’m unaware of?”       

Comments
  1. Norman – What a great quote – thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed your holiday, and I wish you and your family all the very best for 2014. May it be a good year…

  2. Jose Ignacio says:

    Norman – I wish you as well a very healthy, happy and prosperous 2014.

  3. Norman Price says:

    Margot-I couldn’t resist that quote. Best wishes to you and your family.

    Jose Ignacio- When I get the itinerary for our trip to Toledo I will let you know. Best wishes.

  4. That is a fantastic quote and yet another reason to read the book. It has been highly recommended so many times I’ve no idea why I haven’t gotten to it yet.

    Hope your 2014 is a happy and health one Norman.

  5. TracyK says:

    Coincidentally we just bought a Blu-Ray version of Casablanca and will be watching it soon. We have watched that movie so many times but it has been a while and I am looking forward to it. And a few new documentaries that came with it. Also coincidentally I just bought Norwegian by Night and am looking forward to reading it in 2014.

    Sounds like you had a lovely Christmas and I hope your 2014 is a good year.

  6. […] See the article here: As Time Goes By…… | CRIME SCRAPS REVIEW […]

  7. Blighty says:

    I love the idea of you stopping Casablanca to give your granddaughter a few insights, she must be a lovely girl, first I would not be able to get my hooligans to watch this with me (too busy shooting stuff on the X Box in manner of brain dead zombies); secondly if I ever try to do helpful explanations i get eye rolling and back chat with added sass…my New Year Resolution is to sell the pair of them over eBay. I was a bit grinchy about Norwegian by Night, I must have been having a grumppy day…I was even grumpier about the Hundred Year Old Man which everyone except me loves…Norwegian reminded me a bit of a book by Nicole Krauss – The History of Love which has a similar older Jewish American character, and that book I remember enjoying…must have been feeling jaded when reading Norwegian by Night, looking forward to your review, sure it will make me reassess. Anyway, Happy New Year!

    • Norman Price says:

      Blighty, I think back chat is what all children do…luckily grandchildren take more notice especially when they are very intelligent and realise that my generation were lucky enough to speak to people who lived through those events. Some of my parent’s friends lived in Vichy France during the war and survived. My father’s younger brother was in the Allied Army that landed in Algeria 1942.

  8. Bill Selnes says:

    I wish I could watch Casablanca with you.

    Happy New Year! I hope it is a year filled with good health and good reading for you.

    • Norman Price says:

      Thanks Bill and I wish you a Happy Healthy New Year.
      I would gladly watch it again with you, Bill, as long as you don’t mind me crying at the Marseillaise and the ending. 😉

Leave a Reply

