Inspector De Luca: The Google and BBC4 effect

Posted: April 19, 2014 in Book Awards, Italy

delucatrilogy51+bu8dd1xL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_SX385_SY500_CR,0,0,385,500_SH20_OU02_I have recorded, but not had the time to watch, all four programs in the Inspector De Luca series, which has been showing on Saturday nights on BBC4.

My humble blog started in September 2006 and was switched from blogger to wordpress in July of 2011. It was jogging along with a small but highly intelligent readership with about 2,000 hits per month.

The hits recorded in the second half of 2011-17,491, in 2012-29,228, and in 2013-24,645……

In January this year 2,348 and February 1,842, and then on 16 March I posted about the upcoming Inspector De Luca series on BBC4.  There were only 118 hits that day but the next day 239, then 254-170-183-297 and on the Saturday 22 March the day the first episode was screened 2,518.

The following day there were 1,677 hits and while things have calmed down now there were a total of 10,077 hits in March and over 6,000 so far in April. This was deluca4simply because the post achieved a high position on Google third or fourth for a period of time; although I like to think the links to my reviews of the three books in the De Luca trilogy were a valuable resource for fans of Italian crime fiction.

I hope to review some more crime fiction set in Fascist and wartime Italy over the next few months as I have several books staring at me from the TBR shelf.  

 

Comments
  1. Norman – Isn’t it interesting how certain topics – especially if they are ‘out there’ in the media, bring a whole lot of visitors. It’s the ‘media bump’ I suppose. I am pleased for you about the number of hits increasing; your blog deserves wide interest and recognition.

  2. booketta says:

    I must admit we didn’t like Inspector de Luca on viewing the first episode and abandoned it. Mu husband liked the Montalbano programmes so I thought this would be a winner with him.

  3. Bill Selnes says:

    Norman – Very interesting on what draws attention. I wrote about Louise Penny’s movie, Still Life, for Canadian television and the hits, while not as frequent as for your blog, just keep coming. Almost every day there are a few. Writing about movies seems to draw more attention on the net than posts about books.

    • Norman Price says:

      Bill I don’t know what the figures are for Canada but in the UK a third of men never read books! So by blogging about books we have immediately cut ourselves off from a large part of the population.

  4. kathy d. says:

    Well, I admit I don’t like to read about fascist regimes, but since I’m intrigued about this character, I will watch the dvd’s of the TV programs. Since my library has them, it’s no sweat to get them.
    I want to know how a police officer who allegedly isn’t a fascist can operate under a fascist regime without being a participant, or at least an enabler.

    But I’ll find this out when I see them.

  5. Norman Price says:

    I expect a lot of people thought it might be a version of Montalbano. From my reading of this Carlo Lucarelli trilogy and his other books I am prepared for something more noir, after all 1938-1948 was a terrible time in Italian history.
    We are always told that Mussolini made the trains run on time, but I wonder who would be brave enough to pop down to his local Fascist Party HQ and complain that they didn’t.
    From memory, I read the books several years ago, in one book De Luca is on the run from the Partisans for having worked for the police.

  6. That’s so interesting, you can never tell what will bring readers in….

  7. kathy d. says:

    What’s scary even today is that in recent years, a news report came out that Italian police, who were busy clamping down heavily on protesters, had posters of Mussolini in various headquarters. The heavy hand of the past still remains.

    I will watch these episodes. Not only would one wonder at complaining about the trains not running on time, but could someone complain about the deportation of Jews and Roma, or the rounding up — and worse — of partisans?

Leave a Reply

