Leif G.W.Persson and Neil Smith win the 2nd Annual Petrona Award

Posted: May 18, 2014 in Book Awards, Scandinavia, Sweden

51WrzjbXCpL._SL500_AA300_There are some intelligent thoughts from Bernadette about the 2014 Petrona shortlist over at Reactions to Reading.persson

You can also read my own rambling opinions here and here.

The judges chose as the winner Leif G.W. Persson’s Linda, As In The Linda Murder, the first of series featuring the obnoxious and unforgettable Evert Backstrom as the main character.  You can read my review of this excellent book at Euro Crime.



22b874cThe translator was Neil Smith who also won the inaugural  Petrona translating Liza Marklund’s Last Will. 51-XXpEMoPL._SL500_AA300_

We are fortunate today that there are so many outstanding translators around, and we can enjoy the best of foreign crime fiction. 

Update: Read Professor Persson’s message of thanks at Euro Crime.

  1. […] However, a Swede has won the second annual Petrona Award – Leif G. W. Persson, for Linda, as in the Linda Murder. I keep meaning to try this series again as it keeps getting such high marks (including from Maxine Clarke, who inspired the Petrona Award and is still sorely missed). More on the award from the Euro Crime blog and from Bernadette’s Reactions to Reading. […]

  2. list says:

    It is in reality a great and helpful piece of info.
    I am glad that you just shared this useful information with us.

    Please keep us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s