Favourite Reads of 2014

Posted: January 7, 2015 in Uncategorized

You can see my selection of my favourite reads of 2014 over at Euro Crime.

I read less than forty crime fiction books, but managed to read some heavyweight long non-fiction books about real crimes. Bloodlands by Timothy Snyder, Iron Curtain by Anne Applebaum, Fascist Voices by Christopher Duggan, and 1177BC, The Year Civilisation Collapsed by Eric Cline. I can recommend all four, but Bloodlands and Iron Curtain are particularly testing reads because of the harrowing content.

I have been blogging about crime fiction for over 8 years, and during that time have built up a large backlog of unread history and political books. In 2015 I intend to catch up with this mountain of books, and this will necessarily mean less blog reviews. 

But I will blog about the CWA International Dagger, Historical Dagger and of course the Petrona shortlists when they are announced.

I suspect that after a couple of non fiction tomes I will return to some crime fiction for relaxation. The name of the winner of the Winter Quiz and the important answers will be published over the next couple of weeks. The deadline for your entries is 11 January and they should be sent to thbear08@googlemail.com.    

Comments
  1. Norman – I know what you mean about a backlog of non-fiction books to read. I have one of those too. You could always set up a non-fiction book review blog…. 😉 Looking forward to your 2015 reviews.

  2. Jose Ignacio says:

    Very nice choices Norman, I’ve read only one but have the rest of the books on my TBR shelf or in my Kindle.

  3. tracybham says:

    i checked out your list at Euro Crime. I want to read all of those authors. (I have read one Nesser.) Your reviews on the Ben Pastor books inspired me to buy Lumen at the end of 2014. Looking forward to trying that.

  4. […] Scraps’ latest blog post here, has reminded me that I’ve only read a few books eligible for the 2015 Petrona Award. And I […]

  5. Kathy D. says:

    Want to read your list of top five at Euro Crime, but maybe not the Ben Pastor. The rest, yes, but the TBR lists are intimidating.

Leave a Reply

