My Discovery of 2014 and looking forward to 2015

Posted: January 23, 2015 in Uncategorized

You can find my Favourite Discovery of 2014, along with some excellent choices by other Euro Crime reviewers over at Karen’s encyclopaedic Euro Crime website.

The year 2015 on TV has opened with a bang with the new series of the very gritty French crime drama Spiral. Great moments in past series have included the wonderfully evil line. 

Ms Karlsson if you work for me you must love money and money alone. 

And the scene where police Captain Laure Berthaud [Caroline Proust], the sexy antithesis of the well groomed French woman, pours a quantity of liquid over a suspect and stands near him waving around a cigarette lighter. I can’t see that interrogation method meeting the PACE Police and Criminal Evidence Act of 1984 code of practice.      

Comments
  1. roger says:

    Just getting into Spiral, late to the party. Actually, we started watching the first series when it was first on but gave up on it for some reason… Somehow it didn’t grab us in the the same way as the Scandi noire series. But really loving this current series – now I want to catch up on all the ones I missed out on!

    • Norman Price says:

      Roger, pleased you are enjoying this Spiral series. It has never received the publicity that The Killing, and The Bridge received but the characters are just as good and the twisty plots and police procedures probably a more accurate.
      I missed the entire first series of Broadchurch, and now wonder what all the ballyhoo was about because series 2 seems rather far fetched.

  2. Kathy D. says:

    Series 1 of Broadchurch was very good, in my opinion. Not fast-paced like Line of Duty, but thoughtful and with a lot of character development and enough red herrings for a dinner party.

    I look forward to the second season.

    I am dismayed that Happy Valley dvd’s are not available over here yet, and have my fingers crossed.
    I’ll try Spiral.

    I’ve been watching Vera, which is great, and saw both seasons of Line of Duty; the second one was pretty amazing, the cast sublime, as you said.

    I hope you have or will see The Escape Artist with the brilliant actors David Tennant and Sophie Okenado. Amazing, non-stop.

  3. Norman Price says:

    Kathy, Broadchurch 2 is not getting the praise that the first series received. I am still not sure of what I make of it not having seen the first series.
    I remember The Escape Artist, very gripping, and it could not fail to be a fine drama with David Tennant and Sophie Okenado.

Leave a Reply

