Pleasantly distracted in Devon

Posted: June 15, 2014 in Book Awards, Norway, Sweden, USA

51eK2UHfulL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_SX385_SY500_CR,0,0,385,500_SH20_OU02_518g9AKCspL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_SX385_SY500_CR,0,0,385,500_SH20_OU02_P1040738P1040757Forty Days Without Shadow by Olivier Truc translated from the French by Louise Rogers Lalaurie is a very interesting read set in Lapland, where the Reindeer Police enjoy cross border jurisdiction. The Sami like indigenous people all over the world struggle to hold on to their way of life, as incomers try to exploit the mineral wealth of the country. My own personal experience of the Sami people is limited to a brief alcoholic conversation on a train journey from Uppsala to Stockholm over twenty years ago.  

 

See The Swedish Apache. I mention this blog post from 2009 because there are some particularly interesting  replies to my post. 

I haven’t read as much of Forty Days Without Shadow as I had originally planned simply because I have been pleasantly distracted by some summer weather, trips out to Devon’s scenic sites, and American visitors. Those visitors from the USA have included, very old friends who emigrated from England to the beautiful Pocono Mountains of Pennsylvania in 1981. And fellow blogger Margot Kinberg, who it was a great pleasure to meet in person after a few years of enjoyable internet contact. 

And I have also been seduced into reading chunks of Bill Bryson’s brilliant best seller One Summer America 1927, Charles Lindbergh, Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig, Herbert Hoover and Al Capone in a very different USA. I have also been distracted, possibly temporarily, by some football matches. Champions_statue

 

All this means that unfortunately the announcement of the International Dagger Award and the Endeavour Historical Award winners will take place before I have had a chance to read more of the shortlists. 

More about Forty Days Without Shadow next week……………

 

Comments
  1. TracyK says:

    Forty Days without Shadow sounds good and interesting. Look forward to more about that book. I did go see your post The Swedish Apache and there were lots of interesting comments. I could make up a reading list from those comments. One Summer America 1927 also sounds good. Too many good books to read them all.

  2. Margot Kinberg says:

    Norman – First, thanks to you and Mrs. Crime Scraps for your generous hospitality. I had a lovely time, thanks to you both, and it was a real pleasure to meet you in person and to see Devon. And I know all about being distracted from reading. Looking forward to your review.

  3. kathy d. says:

    I await your review of 40 Days without Shadow; sounds interesting and I’ll send it to a friend now in Barrow, Alaska, who is fascinated by Arctic life and books about it.

Leave a comment