A Mid Winter Quiz

Posted: December 21, 2014 in Quiz, Uncategorized

I haven’t posted one of my quirky quizzes for some time, probably because my old brain box has been creaking lately.

But knowing that this holiday period will last two weeks in the UK, and that readers might need some mental stimulation after friendly discussions with relatives and their third helping of turkey, I have therefore produced this effort for your amusement.

The prize is a copy of The Poisoned Chocolate Case by Anthony Berkeley, and all answers should be sent to thbear08@googlemail.com by midnight GMT on Sunday 11 January 2015. 

Good Luck!

1] Try this one without wikipedia. 😉

By what names are the following better known? [a] Salvatore Albert Lombino [b] Elizabeth Mackintosh [c] Daniel Nathan [d] Juliet Marion Hulme [e] Willard Huntington Wright [f] Edith May Pargeter [g] Janet Quin-Harkin

2] Who was “the man who could see round corners”?

3] Which detective found his perfect life partner in Enscombe?

4] Who cinematically linked a Hungarian born member of the Detection Club, with an aircraft, and a city chronologically between Barcelona and Sydney?

5] Who were married to [a]Heloise Plisson [b]Mary Marstan [c]Thomas Samuelsson [d] Dulcie Duveen?

6] How did a bleeding ulcer and a broken leg connect Christina Collins and Edward V?

7] Who noted a lack of any ornithological reference in the Memoirs of the Verney family?

8] Name a crime fiction author who has worked as [a] an osteopath [b] a forensic anthropologist [c] an eukaryotic archaeologist [d]  an architect

9] Identify the people in these photos.

portrait_asa_larsson

aly-monnroe-photo-2

article-1035832-01F9B71700000578-106_224x423

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10] Andy Dalziel likes choosing nicknames for his colleagues, for example Shirley Novello naturally becomes “Ivor” after the actor and composer Ivor Novello.

How and why did Andy’s choice of nickname for Sergeant Whitby link an unfinished 1817 novel with a epistolary novel of 1897? 

Comments
  1. Jose Ignacio says:

    Great quiz as always Norman, have a nice Christmas and all the best to you and your family.

  2. tracybham says:

    Way too hard for me, although I could make some guesses at some of the pseudonyms and the occupations. I look forward to your post with the answers.

  3. kathy d. says:

    Way over my head. I look forward to reading the answers on my way to getting a masters degree in crime fiction.

  4. Philip Amos says:

    May you and the family have a peaceful and easeful time over the holidays, Norman. In the New Year, may only the best of things come to you, especially in the health department.

    Huge thanks for the quiz, as ever. A lovely distraction. I have eight done, leaving 1 2/3 which may stump me — number 4 and two elements of number 9. You always manage to include one question that drives me loopy, you rascal, and that may be 4, as I think I have two of the three key constituents, but it’s going nowhere without the other one! “What larks, eh, Pip, what larks!”

  5. Norman Price says:

    Happy New Year to everyone. Thanks for your comments. Philip has eight done! Incredible! And I seem to remember Kathy as a previous winner, so I think she is being unduly modest.

  6. Kathy D. says:

    No, this time, Norman, you have me flummoxed. I would need a doctorate in crime fiction to
    complete this one. Or I’d need to do all-nighters to study enough to complete this fiendish quiz.
    Meanwhile, have a happy, healthy new year with lots of good crime fiction.
    I just read J.K. Rowling’s The Silkworm, with mixed views. She surely can write and is
    brilliant, but it’s gruesome.
    Now to read Tana French’s new book and Sarah Waters’ The Paying Guest.
    Also, I am glued to the Vera series, which kept me enrapt for New Year’s weekend,
    and about to start with season 2 of Line of Duty. So I am duly immersed in
    British crime fiction.

  7. Kathy D. says:

    Line of Duty 2 yikes! Up all night, couldn’t tear myself away from it. So intense. What a
    brilliant cast. I read that Keeley Dawes won an award for her role. She deserved it, but
    so many other good English, Scottish and Irish actors. I have to strain to get through
    some of the brogues, but I get the meanings.
    I hope there is a season 3.

  8. Kathy D. says:

    A question on Line of Duty Season 2: Although very riveting and full of twists and turns, not to mention terrific acting, it is so brutal. A neighbor nearly stopped watching it due to this.
    My question is: Since there must be a real unit in the British police that investigates police
    corruption, is it this brutal? Or is this mostly fictional?

    • Norman Price says:

      Kathy there is definitely an Internal Investigation Unit, as many years ago about 30, I knew one of the officers. His unit spent a lot of time with binoculars trained at fellow officers houses on Kingston Hill. An area one would not expect police officers below the rank of superintendent to be able to afford to live.
      I don’t believe it is that brutal as they have to obey the same laws as ordinary police. In the words of a friend of mine [now retired] “we can’t shout at them we have to bore them into a confession.”
      Of course corrupt officers are not that intelligent one has been convicted recently after colleagues noticed he arrived at work in a Ferrari!!!

  9. Philip Amos says:

    Norman, I’m hoping followers have not forgotten that the QQ answers are due tomorrow. I sent you mine a couple of days ago, so now I’m hoping there will be loads of participants — and some very good ones!

Leave a Reply

