Who is your favourite male Swedish crime writer?

Posted: October 13, 2011 in polls, Scandinavia, Sweden

A few weeks ago I conducted a poll about your favourite Nordic female crime writer. Now here is the chance to pick your favourite male Swedish crime writer with the poll closing on 27 October.

What a week it has been, me struggling with a very bad cough and cold while trying to sort out VAT receipts, England’s bizarrely selected rugby team losing to France’s crazily selected rugby team,  and fox hunting [the Dr Liam version] back on the social calendar in the Home Counties.

But with the superb Italian TV series Romanzo Criminale on Sky Arts it can’t be all bad. 

Comments
  1. Well, I am a writer, I live in Sweden and what I write is criminal, so with that in mind…ME!

    ~The Dippylomat esq

  2. Philip Young says:

    I didn’t go for the best, I went for the writer who has given me most pleasure (made easier because you didn’t include Per Wahlöö 😉 )

  3. Thanks for hosting this poll, Norman :-). It’ll be interesting to see who wins.

  4. kathy d. says:

    Oh, drat, wish we had more options. I like 4 of them so much for different strengths and styles.
    If there were a first, second and third choice, it would be as easy as pie, but I think I”ll just close my eyes and point.

  5. Bernadette says:

    Theorin gets my vote as I have adored each of his three books and they have all surprised me in some way. But there really isn’t a dud in your list (though with the Hellstrom/Borge duo I’m ambivalent as I have only read two of their books and thought one brilliant and the other utterly dull).

  6. Neil Smith says:

    I’m coming at this from a slightly odd angle, but I’ve added Mons Kallentoft’s name because I’m enjoying translating his books so much!

  7. Norman says:

    Neil, many thanks for your input. That other box is very useful, and I have read good things about Midwinter Sacrifice.

  8. Maxine says:

    I’ve voted, has to be Theorin for me, but there are so many good ones – as Neil says, Mons K is good (my review submitted to Euro Crime), & Tegenfalk (Anger Mode) – then there are the less good ones such as half of Lars Kepler. I’d also put in a Highly Recommended for Ninni Holmqvist’s The Unit, though it isn’t really crime but it can be viewed as crime in some ways. Very good.

  9. H.L. Banks says:

    Nessenr all the way for me, no contest!

  10. Earlier it would have been difficult for me to choose between Theorin and Nesser, but as Theorin´s latest was a bit slow for me it was relatively easy.

  11. OOPS! Misread Swedish as Scandinavian and added Jo Nesbo. Sorry!

  12. If i could vote again it would be for Mankell, for lifetime achievement.

  13. Norman says:

    Thanks for all your comments. The poll is very tight and getting interesting.

  14. Anya Lipska says:

    Has to be Henning Mankell, surely. Wallander one of the greats, and the series is so much more than the sum of its parts.

    But can we have some other European writers covered as well, please? Am I the only person getting a bit sick of Scandophilia? What about Vargas, Camillieri, and the incredible Krajewski?

    • Norman Price says:

      Anya I will probably run further polls on other European writers. I have reviewed Marek Krajewski’s books, and conducted an on line interview. You can search for Krajewski on the blog or find a lot of the links here.
      http://bit.ly/w20jlo

      I agree Krajewski and Eberhard Mock are incredible. And I am a huge fan of Andrea Camilleri.

      • Anya Lipska says:

        Thanks. The Krajewski interviews are fascinating: I’m especially interested (as someone who has set the plot of my novel in Soviet era Poland) in the fact that the Soviet era saw Polish crime writing wane. I guess crime is about morality and that’s tricky to write about when society itself is corrupt and morally skewed. I look forward to reading the reviews.

Leave a Reply

